Skip to content

Violence against women: ANROWS research to policy and practice

Tuesday, 23 February 2016 to Thursday, 25 February 2016 from 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

 

Special Publication                 Non ANROWS Research

ANROWS invited Researchers working on current projects under the National Research Agenda, to submit Abstracts for inclusion in a special publication as part of the Inaugural National Research Conference on Violence against Women and their Children

The aim was to present current research outcomes and emerging developments, focusing on the four Strategic Research Themes (SRT) identified within the framework of the National Research Agenda, 2014.

The focus is on harnessing and transmitting solution oriented research to assist decision and policy making, and to guide action, towards the six National Outcomes of The National Plan to Reduce Violence against Women and their Children 2010 – 2022.

1. Communities are safe and free from violence.
2. Relationships are respectful.
3. Indigenous communities are strengthened.
4. Services meet the needs of women and their children experiencing violence.
5. Justice responses are effective.
6. Perpetrators stop their violence and are held to account for their actions.

Four Strategic Research Themes

SRT 1           Experience and impacts
SRT 2           Gender inequality and primary prevention
SRT 3           Service responses and interventions
SRT 4           Systems

Click: The experience of the infant and mother in Women's Refuge Wendy Bunston, La Trobe University  
Click: We can't do much unless she leaves: rethinking the assumptions Prof. Donna Chung, Curtin University d.chung@curtin.edu.au
Click: Men as allies: A case study of White Ribbon Australia Kenton Bell, University of Wollongong kb759@uowmail.edu.au
Click: Promoting equality and respect: an interfaith collaboration Crystal Bruton, City of Greater Dandenong crystal.bruton@cgd.vic.gov.au
Click: Evaluating a whole-of-school approach to respectful relationships education Christine Dew, Good Samaritan Inn  
Click: Engaging men and boys in violence prevention Assoc Prof. Michael Flood, University of Wollongong mflood@uow.edu.au
Click: The treatment of family violence perpetrators in Victorian Magistrates' Court Rhiannon Nichols, Magistrate's Court of Victoria  
Click: Violence against Women: A media intervention Margaret Simons, University of Melbourne msimons@unimelb.edu.au
Click: Longitudinal study on men's behavioural change programs Emeritus Prof. Thea Brown, Monash University thea.brown@monash.edu
Click: Counselling service modalities and the needs of Australians affected... Jacqueline Burke, Rape & Domestic Violence Services hanaw@rape-dvservices.org.au
Click: Narrative of desistance from intimate partner violence Carlos Clavijo, Monash University carlos.clavijo@monash.edu
Click: Findings of the Gippsland prevention of men's violence against women strategy Assoc. Dean Karen Crinall, Federation University of Australia  karen.crinall@federation.edu.au
Click: Safe at home? Where women live when leaving a violent relationship Kristin Diemer, University of Melbourne kdiemer@unimelb.edu.au
Click: Fathering in the context of family violence Kristin Diemer, University of Melbourne kdiemer@unimelb.edu.au
Click: Female genital mutilation data collection in Australia Jane Estoesta, Family Planning NSW janee@fpnsw.org.au
Click: Aboriginal fathering project David Gallant, University of Melbourne david.gallant@unimelb.edu.au
Click: Using universal screening to uncover the hidden harm from family violence in gambling services Rosemary Hambledon, Relationships Australia South Australia r.hambledon@rasa.org.au
Click: Experience of domestic violence routine screening in Family Planning NSW clinics Tara Hunter, Family Planning NSW tarah@fpnsw.org.au
Click: Engaging families - crossing the service divide Julie Knowles, Windemere julie.knowles@windemere.org.au
Click: Children's messages for fathers who use violence: How can we embed their perspectives in men's behavioural change programs Katie Lamb, University of Melbourne lambk@student.unimelb.edu.au
Click: How can we increase men's awareness that family violence has a harmful effect on their children? Peter Lucas, University of Tasmania p.v.lucas@utas.edu.au
Click: Interagency working between child protection and specialist domestic and family violence services and/or family law - the PATRICIA project scoping review Michelle Macvean, Parenting Research Centre mmacvean@parentingrc.org.au
Click: The value of adopting a harm reduction approach when working with families affected by domestic violence to improve the safety and wellbeing of their children Cheryl Majka, Save the Children Australia cheryl.majka@savethechildren.org.au
Click: "If you ask, clients will tell you" - the case for universal and holistic screening in family relationships services Claire Raifs, Relationships Australia South Australia c.raifs@rasa.org.au
Click: Partnering, patience, and persistance: Reducing domestic and family violence in remote areas. Sharing the lessons learnt from a bottom up approach to cross-government policy Joanne Sangster, Dept of Attorney General & Justice (NT) naomiJ.brennan@nt.gov.au
Click: Integrated interagency domestic violence work: A study of entangled practice Sarah Stewart, UTS/UNITAS sarah.stewart@student.uts.edu.au
Click: An online healthy relationship tool and safety decision aid for women experiencing domestic violence (I-DECIDE) Laura Tarzia, University of Melbourne laura.tarzia@unimelb.edu.au
Click: Women's domestic and family violence services, the expectations and the reality: Listening to women in the development of victim defined services and policy Sarah van Est, SHE  sarah@she.org.au
Click: Using law and ending domestic violence: Women's voices Prof Heather Douglas, University of Queensland h.douglas@law.uq.edu.au
Click: How are Indigenous communities managing risk and protective factors to improve community safety? Towards a strength-based approach Simone Georg, Australian National University simone.georg@anu.edu.au
Click: Responding to revenge pornography: The scope, nature and impact of the Australian Criminal Laws Nicola Henry, La Trobe University n.henry@latrobe.edu.au