Skip to content

Saturday 4 May 2019


Symposium: 9.00am - 4.30pm

Professional Association meeting: 5pm (to finish no later than 6.30pm) 


Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts, University of Waikato

Gate 2B, Knighton Road, Hamilton

Waitlist will close 28th April at Midnight!

The Aotearoa New Zealand Trans Health Symposium will bring people together for interactive sessions on research and clinical practice in the area of trans people’s health. We will release key findings from the Aotearoa NZ Trans and Non-binary Health Survey (Counting Ourselves), discuss the latest guidelines for clinical practice, and plan ways to build networks for people around Aotearoa who are working on trans health.

The symposium activities have been endorsed by The Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners (RNZCGP) and have been approved for up to 5.75 CME credits for the General Practice Educational Programme (GPEP) and Continuing Professional Development (CPD) purposes.

Limited scholarships to support travel, accomodation and attendance at the conference may be available. To learn more and apply, head to the scholarships page.

Programme outline now available! Click to view

Registrations are sold out!

Due to high demand, all publicly available spaces for the symposium have been purchased.

A small number of tickets have been retained (for scholarships, presenters,etc). Please add yourself to the waitlist form below if you are still interested in attending. We will use this to gauge outstanding interest in the Symposium.

Please do not email us asking about tickets - we are actively monitoring the waitlist and letting people know who are signed up to the waitlist when tickets become available.

The waitlist will close on the 28th April - if you are at all interested in attending please complete the waitlist sooner rather than later.



Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts
Gate 2b
Knighton Road
New Zealand 3240

Event Organiser

Jaimie Veale
+64 7 837 9216

Email Organiser


The Aotearoa New Zealand Trans Health Symposium organising committee includes:

  • Phylesha Brown-Acton - F'INE
  • Jack Byrne - Counting Ourselves (The University of Waikato)
  • Thomas Hamilton - re.frame
  • Dr Rachel Johnson - Centre for Youth Health (CMDHB)
  • Joey Macdonald - Kāhui Tū Kaha
  • Duncan Matthews - Treasurer, Rule Foundation
  • Dr Jeannie Oliphant - Auckland Sexual Health Service
  • Dr Jaimie Veale - Counting Ourselves (The University of Waikato)
  • Ahi Wi-hongi - Gender Minorities Aotearoa